Coronavirus Fife: School Closures and Resources

The Scottish Government has announced that all schools and early learning centres will be closed from Friday 19 March 2020. FCE has compiled a list of local, national updates as well as activities relating to equality and diversity for anyone teaching children from home.

National Updates:

Education Scotland: https://education.gov.scot/education-scotland/news-and-events/
Scottish Government News: https://www.gov.scot/education/

Local Updates:

Fife Council – All Closures / Disruptions: https://www.fife.gov.uk/closures
Fife Council – Education: https://www.fife.gov.uk/kb/docs/articles/education2/schools-in-fife


Education Resources for Homeschooling:

Primary School Level:

What is diversity? https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/23747/what-is-diversity

Make your own multicultural banner: http://www.momentsaday.com/diy-multicultural-banner/

High School Level: 

Equality and Human Rights Lesson Plans: https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/lesson-plan-ideas
Equality and Diversity practical activities, lesson plans: https://www.highspeedtraining.co.uk/hub/classroom-equality-diversity/
Equality and Diversity Quiz: https://www.highspeedtraining.co.uk/hub/equality-diversity-quiz/
Gender Identity Guidance: https://www.actionforchildren.org.uk/media/12719/gender-identity-guide_hr-single-pages.pdf
Themed Resources and Activities: 

Multi-Cultural Meal Plan: https://multiculturalkidblogs.com/category/multicultural-meal-plan-monday/

The Beauty of Diversity: http://www.momentsaday.com/teaching-children-to-appreciate-diversity/

Learn to say Hello in 50 different languages: https://www.englishcentres.co.uk/blog/learn-to-say-hello-in-50-languages

Learning basic British Sign Language (BSL): https://www.british-sign.co.uk/lesson-plan-dont-talk/

Learn the BSL alphabet: http://www.british-sign.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/BSL-Fingerspelling-Right-Handed.pdf

Play Scotland – Inclusive Play: https://www.playscotland.org/parents-families/inclusive-play/

 

Autism Parenting Magazine – Top Ways to Communicate With Your ASD Child’s Teacher During the COVID-19 Shutdown: https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/communication-with-autism-childs-teacher/

Autism Parenting Magazine – Helping your Child with Autism Spectrum Disorder be Physically Active and Reduce Stress at Home: https://www.autismparentingmagazine.com/coronavirus-autism-home-activities/


Educational Videos:

Equality Act: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CF56D3AY9QQ

What is Discrimination?: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6uXgJA-VfjI